Media releases

Media releases and statements by Rachel Stephen-Smith

Awards celebrate outstanding youth work

October 25, 2019

Nine Canberra individuals and organisations were today presented awards at the Youth Coalition of the ACT’s 16th annual YOGIE Awards.

The YOGIE Awards recognise, celebrate, promote and reward outstanding practice in working with young people in the ACT and surrounding area.

Minister for Children, Youth and Families, Rachel Stephen-Smith MLA said she was delighted to present the awards for the fourth time.

“I am constantly impressed by the exceptional commitment, talent and innovation that exists in the youth sector,” Minister Stephen-Smith said.

“The field was exceptionally strong and all of today’s nominees and award recipients can stand proud knowing that their local sector continues to drive best practice.

“This year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Anet Marinov is the Team Leader for The Juction’s Youth Health Team. Anet has been working in the sector for 26 years and remains humble, passionate and empathetic in her work.

“Anet has supported many young people in desperate circumstances to become masters of their own lives, working towards qualifications, growing their own family, gaining employment and establishing secure housing for themselves and their families.

“I congratulate to the winners across nine categories.”

  • Outstanding Youth Worker Award:
    Winner – Cindylee Young
    Highly Commended – Zakia Patel
  • Youth Worker Champion:
    Winner – Ciara Duggan
  • Outstanding New Talent:
    Winner – Geoffrey Sima
    Highly Commended – Tara McLelland
  • Lifetime Achievement Award:
    Winner – Anet Marinov
  • Outstanding Contribution to Young People:
    Winner – Janine Bassett
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Participation:
    Winner – YWCA Sexuality and Gender Alliance
    Highly Commended – Party Down Production, The Woden School
  • Innovation in Service Delivery Award:
    Winner – Girls Empowered Together, Woden Community Service
  • Excellence in Implementation of Evidence Informed Practice (New Category):
    Winner – Conflict Resolution Service
  • Staff Acknowledgement Award:
    Winner – Gugan Gulwan Youth Aboriginal Corporation

For more information, please visit